Contact: John Blair (505) 490-1952

New Mexico Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver Takes Office

SANTA FE - Maggie Toulouse Oliver was sworn in as the New Mexico Secretary of State before a packed house this afternoon in Santa Fe. During her remarks, Secretary Toulouse Oliver highlighted her priorities of ensuring integrity in the Office, reforming our election systems and working to clean up politics in New Mexico

"To protect and preserve the right to vote, we must create absolute certainty that for every eligible New Mexican who wishes to vote, they will have an easy and secure way to do so," said Secretary of State Toulouse Oliver. "We must remove barriers to the ballot and create every possible opportunity for participation in our political process."

Secretary Toulouse Oliver was sworn in by New Mexico District Court Judge Ted C. Baca (Ret.) in a ceremony held at the New Mexico Supreme Court. In a sign of strong bipartisanship, the immediate-past Secretary of State Brad Winter participated in the ceremony today and introduced Secretary Toulouse Oliver. Toulouse Oliver replaces Winter, who has served since he was appointed by Governor Susana Martinez on December 15, 2015, due to the resignation of Dianna Duran.

"When elections are over, it is our shared responsibility to ensure that those who represent us and lead are adhering to the highest ethical standards," said Toulouse Oliver. "We must reform the system and guarantee complete transparency from our political process, and hold those accountable who break the public's trust."

In an effort to increase transparency and expand constituent outreach, Secretary Toulouse Oliver has established an official <u>Facebook</u> page and <u>Twitter</u> account for the Office of the Secretary of State. New Mexicans can now engage with the Secretary of State's Office on social media at the following:

- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NMSecOfState
- <u>Twitter</u>: https://twitter.com/NMSecOfState (@NMSecOfState)

On November 8, 2016, Secretary Toulouse Oliver won the general election to fill the unexpired term, which ends on December 31, 2018.

#