Voting and Elections

Native American Voting Task Force

NAVTF Members

  • Linda Yardley  –  Taos Pueblo
  • April K. Chavez –  Santa Domingo Pueblo
  • Arden Kucate  –  Zuni Pueblo
  • Amanda Tolino  –  Northern Agency
  • Eastern Navajo Agency –  Vacant
  • Ft. Defiance Agency –  Vacant
  • Shauna Tafoya –  Jicarilla Apache Nation
  • Eric Spitty  –  Mescalero Apache Tribe
  • Lisa LeFlore Davis  –  Ft. Sill Apache Tribe
  • Urban Native American  –  Vacant


Press Releases




  • The Native American Voting Taskforce will consult, advise and make recommendations to Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver on Native American voting issues, including:
    • Increasing voter registration in Native American communities
    • Establishing adequate early voting sites
  • Increasing access to the ballot
  • Providing election documents in Native American languages
  • Proposing statutory changes on Native American voting rights issues
  • Increasing voter outreach and voter education in Native American communities
  • Assisting New Mexico’s counties in complying with federal voting rights statutes
  • Assisting the federal government in recognizing areas of need in New Mexico’s Native American communities, including in urban areas
  • Streamlining and reducing inconsistencies in the voting process
  • Improving translation services inclusive of language diversities
  • Increasing dialogue between the task force, the counties, the state and tribal leadership
  • Advocating to the legislature to address the digital divide and internet connectivity
    • Incorporating Native American input into future redistricting efforts
  • Securing additional funding for Native American voter outreach programs

Upcoming Statewide Elections

2024 Primary Election: Tuesday, June 4, 2024

2024 General Election: Tuesday, November 5, 2024

Quick Contact Information

Mailing & Physical Address
New Mexico Capitol Annex North
325 Don Gaspar, Suite 300
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hours of Operation
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday through Friday

Toll Free : 1-800-477-3632

Business Services Division
Phone 505-827-3600 (Option 1)
Fax 505-827-4387

Bureau of Elections
Phone: 505-827-3600 (Option 2)

Ethics Division
Phone: 505-827-3600 (Option 2)

Phone 505-827-3600 (Option 3)

Accessibility Options button