Notary & Apostille

Become a Notary


The applicant must:

  • Be at least eighteen years of age.
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States.
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment in the State of New Mexico.
  • Be able to read and write the English language.
  • Have completed the Notary Education course and exam; having passed the exam.
  • Not have been convicted of a felony or crime involving fraud, dishonesty, or deceit in the last five years.
  • Not had a notary public commission denied, suspended, or revoked in another state.
  • Not be disqualified to receive commission under Section 22 of the Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts [14-14A-22 NMSA 1978] .
  • Not otherwise be qualified as a notarial officer; with the exception of a court clerk, deputy court clerk, county clerk, or deputy county clerk.


    $30.00 filing fee for the notary application must be included with the application via check, money order, or operating transfer payable to New Mexico Secretary of State or NMSOS.  

The notary application must be filled completely to include:

  • The applicant’s name, which shall read identical to their legal name listed on their most recently issued state identification. The applicant’s name shall be listed identically everywhere listed on the application, bond, stamp, and signatures.
  • The applicant’s commission number and expiration date if they are applying for renewal.
  • The applicant’s mailing address, where the certificate will be sent, to include the business name and/or persons attention if applicable.
  • The applicant’s New Mexico business address, which may be the same as mailing address. This is often the applicant’s place of employment. The applicant’s home phone, business phone, and optionally an email address where they can be contacted.
  • The applicant must sign the “Oath of Office” section in front of a commissioned New Mexico notary public. The notary must then sign, provide their title of office, and impress their own stamp in the indicated area. The applicant should never notarize their own signature, even if they are a currently active commissioned notarial officer.
  • In addition to the application, you must provide the certificate issued to you verifying the completion of the New Mexico State Notary Qualification course and exam.
  • Renewals can be submitted as soon as 1 month prior to the expiration date. If the renewal is received after the expiration date it will still be processed as a renewal and you will keep the same commission number but will be issued a new expiration date.
  • Applicants who are renewing their commission do not need to retake the qualification course and exam so long as their commission has not been expired more than one year.
  • All signatures and seals must be original, we do not accept photocopies. We also will not accept an altered application with traced over signatures or whiteout.

Quick Contact Information

Mailing & Physical Address
New Mexico Capitol Annex North
325 Don Gaspar, Suite 300
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hours of Operation
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday through Friday

Toll Free : 1-800-477-3632

Business Services Division
Phone 505-827-3600 (Option 1)
Fax 505-827-4387

Bureau of Elections
Phone: 505-827-3600 (Option 2)

Ethics Division
Phone: 505-827-3600 (Option 2)

Phone 505-827-3600 (Option 3)

Accessibility Options button