Voting & Elections
Information on Voting and Elections in the State of New Mexico.
Candidates & Campaigns
Information on how to become a candidate and about complying with campaign finance disclosure and reporting requirements.
Legislation, Lobbying & Legal Resources
Learn about Lobbying in our state. Find Legislative information to include Signed & Chaptered Bills and Legal Resources.
Start a business, maintain a business or get general information on registered businesses in New Mexico.
Notary & Apostille
Become a notary, renew your notary commission, or obtain information about apostilles or certification of official documents.
File UCC's, AG Liens, register a trademark or other commercial filings.
Safe at Home
New Mexico’s statewide address confidentiality program administered by the Secretary of State to assist victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking or similar types of crimes to receive mail using the Secretary of State’s address as a substitute for their own.
Learn about how we protect your voter and business information. You might also find a tip or two that will help you secure your information as well.
About New Mexico
Learn about New Mexico Government, History, State Symbols, State Songs and other important information about our state.
Unofficial Election Results
Results will become available after 7 PM on Election Day, November 2, 2021 and will be posted as they are received from the county offices.
Election Results Homepage
Election Day Voter Hotline
Toll Free: 1-800-477-3632
Santa Fe: 505-827-3600 Option 2
The Election Day Voter Hotline is available on Election Day, November 2, from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM to assist voters with questions or concerns.
Online voter resources include:
Notary & Apostille
In 2021, the State of New Mexico enacted the Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts, aka RULONA (Sections 14-14-A1 to 14-14A-32 NMSA 1978) This law requires the Office of the Secretary of State to provide training and examination with the law as well as for performing Remote Online Notarizations.
The following FAQs are meant to help new and existing Notaries to navigate the changes that are now in place under RULONA. Please refer to the below links for the RULONA Statute and Notarial Procedures:
RULONA Statute12.9.3 NMAC – Notarial Procedures
12.9.4 NMAC – Notarial Procedures
For all other questions please refer to the Notary handbook HERE
Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Act (RULONA) FAQs
|Questions?||Answers. Please refer to the sections of law shown in parenthesis.|
|What is RULONA?||RULONA stands for Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts. RULONA [14-14A-1 to 14-14A-32 NMSA 1978] has replaced the previous Notarial Act [14-12A-1 to 14-12A-26 NMSA 1978].|
|What are the requirements to become a notary public?||Individuals wishing to become a notary public are required to take the New Mexico Notary Education course and exam, register their official seal once commissioned, and maintain a journal of every notarial act they provide. Detailed information HERE|
|Have stamp requirements changed?||Yes. Applicants are required to provide proof of their official stamp 45 days after the Certificate of Commission is issued. Failure to do so will result in a referral to the State Ethics Commission. Detailed information HERE.|
|Is there a new Notary Application?||Yes, Click HERE for new Notary Application|
|What is the application fee?||The application fee is $30. There is also a separate $30 fee for the training and exam that will be paid directly to the vendor|
|Does RULONA impact non commissioned Notarial Officers?||Yes. Non-commissioned notarial officers are now required to provide proof of their official stamp to the Office of the Secretary of State. If they wish to be a Remote Online Notary, they must comply with the requirements to be a Remote Online Notary.|
|Do I have to keep a Journal as a commissioned notary public?||Yes. Journal requirements can be found here.|
|I was commissioned prior to 2022, do I have to comply with RULONA?||All notaries public are required to comply with RULONA for any Notarial Acts performed after January 1, 2022, which includes maintaining a Journal and complying with the new stamp requirements.|
|I was commissioned prior to 2022, do I have to take the New Mexico Notary Education course and exam?||Existing notaries are not required to take the required training and examination until renewal of their commission.|
|I have ordered my new Official Stamp, but it will not be here by January 1, 2022. Can I continue to use my old stamp or seal after January 1, 2022?||Yes, there will be a six-month grace period for existing notaries public that were commissioned prior to January 1, 2022. Within the grace period you must submit proof of your Official Stamp to the Office of the Secretary of State and destroy your old stamp or seal. On July 1, 2022, all existing notaries public that have not complied with the stamp requirements will be referred to the State Ethics Commission.|
|I have questions regarding Remote Online Notary (RON).||Please refer to Remote Online Notarization FAQs|